Svay Rieng Achieves Mine-Free Status

Svay Rieng has become another mine-free province of Cambodia through Prime Minister Samdech Techo Hun Sen’s Project for Mine Action (STP-MA) under “Providing Safe Ground, Creating smiles” motto.

The declaration of Svay Rieng as a mine-free province took place on Feb. 20 under the auspices of H.E. Men Sam An, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Minister of National Assembly-Senate Relations and Inspection.

Svay Rieng is the 8th province mine free in Cambodia, said H.E. Ly Thuch, Cambodian Senior Minister and First Vice President of the Cambodian Mine Action and Victim Assistance Authority (CMAA).

The other seven include Stung Treng, Kep, Prey Veng, Preah Sihanouk, Thbong Khmum and Kampong Cham provinces, and Phnom Penh capital

More than 41 square kilometres of land area in the province was cleared of landmines and unexploded ordnance (UXO), he added.

The Cambodian Mine Action Centre (CMAC) located 419 minefields in the areas and destroyed 3,569 anti-personnel landmines, 132 anti-tank mines and 71,843 UXO.