ASEAN Appeals to Myanmar to Continue Dialogue, Reconciliation

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) yesterday issued a statement calling on all concerned parties in Myanmar to continue “dialogue, reconciliation and the return to normalcy”.

The following is the ASEAN Chairman’s Statement on the Developments in the Republic of the Union of Myanmar:

“ASEAN Member States have been closely following the current developments in the Republic of the Union of Myanmar.

We recall the purposes and the principles enshrined in the ASEAN Charter, including, the adherence to the principles of democracy, the rule of law and good governance, respect for and protection of human rights and fundamental freedoms.

We reiterate that the political stability in ASEAN Member States is essential to achieving a peaceful, stable and prosperous ASEAN Community.

We encourage the pursuance of dialogue, reconciliation and the return to normalcy in accordance with the will and interests of the people of Myanmar.”

In the early morning of Feb. 1, Myanmar’s State Counsellor Aung San Suu Kyi and President U Win Myint as well as other senior figures from the ruling party have been detained by the military. The Myanmar President’s Office declared a state of emergency for one year.

ASEAN is composed of ten members: Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam.

Brunei Darussalam currently holds the ASEAN chairmanship which rotates annually based on the alphabetical order of the English names of the member states.