60 MW-Solar Station in Battambang Province Begins Power Generation

The 60 megawatt-solar station located in Battambang province’s Thmar Kol district has started its operation, according to the Electricité du Cambodge (EDC).

The station, invested by Risen Energy Co., Ltd., is among four solar projects that the Royal Government approved in 2019.

The other three stations are the 30-megawatt plant in Banteay Meanchey province, the 60-megawatt station in Pursat province, and the 20-megawatt station in Svay Rieng province.

H.E. Victor Jona, Director General of Energy at the Ministry of Mines and Energy, said that the combination of power generated from solar stations is to increase Cambodia’s energy from mixed sources, particularly the renewable energy.

As planned, they are all scheduled to begin generating power within this year, he said.

Cambodia’s existing operational solar power stations include a 10-megawatt and a 5-megawatt solar farms in Bavet city, Svay Rieng province, an 80-megawatt solar station in Kampong Speu province and a 60-megawatt solar station in Kampong Chhnang province.